Local government partners in the Western Parkland City

0400 000 000

History of the Western Parkland Councils

Newsletter Post

The Western Parkland Councils is an alliance of the eight Councils who have partnered with the Commonwealth and NSW Governments to deliver the Western Sydney City Deal. This was following the identification of this ‘region’ and the groupings of these Councils as one ‘City’ by the Greater Sydney Commission in their Metropolis of Three Cities Report.

In March 2018 the Councils of the Blue Mountains, Camden, Campbelltown, Fairfield, Hawkesbury, Liverpool, Penrith and Wollondilly signed the 20-year Western Sydney City Deal with the Australian and New South Wales Governments to unlock opportunities in education, business and employment for Western Sydney and its people. The City Deal brings all levels of government together to plan for the new jobs, transport links, communities, facilities and services that will make the region an even better place to live. The core premise of a City Deal is that by working together, the three levels can identify and eliminate replication and duplication and instead identify what synergies might exist and collaborate so as to achieve an even greater outcome.

In late 2019, the eight Councils reconfirmed their commitment to working collaboratively for the region through the formation of the Western Parkland Councils. This agreement formalised governance arrangements as a further evolution towards sustainable relationships between the Councils and the realization of their shared objectives for the Western Parkland City.

In May 2020, the Western Parkland Councils Delivery Program 2020-2021 was endorsed, with the aim to direct the Western Parkland Councils activities, strengthen the partnership and clarify shared ambitions. It confirmed the commitment to improving collaboration between the three levels of government, delivering the City Deal initiatives and pursuing regional priorities for better transport and jobs.